The Military Army Blog

European Leaders Endorse Call to Reactivate the Cooperative Airspace Initiative

The signatories of this statement include:

United Kingdom

1. Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom (James Arbuthnot), former Chairman of the House of Commons Defence Select committee

2. Admiral the Lord Boyce (Michael Boyce), former First Sea Lord and Chief of the Defence Staff

3. Lord Browne (Des Browne), former Defence Secretary

4. Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE QC (Menzies Campbell), former Liberal Democrat MP in the UK Parliament, former member of the Foreign Affairs Committee and member of the UK Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly

5. Lord Hannay of Chiswick (David Hannay), Former Ambassador to the EU and to the UN; current Chair of UK All Party Parliamentary Group on Global Security and Non-Proliferation in the UK Parliament

6. Sir Nick Harvey, former Member of Parliament and former Minister of State for the Armed Forces

7. Lord Kerr of Kinlochard (John Kerr), former UK Ambassador to the US and the EU

8. Tom McKane, former Director General for Strategy and Security Policy, Ministry of Defence

9. Lord Ramsbotham (David Ramsbotham), ADC General (Ret.) in the British Army

10. Sir Malcolm Rifkind, former Foreign and Defence Secretary

11. Lord Triesman (David Triesman), former Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Foreign and Commonwealth Office), former Chairman of the Football Association and former General Secretary of the Labour Party

12. Lord Wallace of Saltaire PC (William Wallace), former Spokesperson for the Cabinet Office in the House of Lords and former Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Defence and Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

13. Admiral the Lord West of Spithead (Alan West), former First Sea Lord of the British Navy and current member of the House of Lords

14. Margaret Beckett, former Foreign Secretary

15. Charles Guthrie, former Chief of the Defence Staff

16. John McColl, Lieutenant-Governor of Jersey, Former Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Europe (Deputy SACEUR)

17. David Richards, former Chief of the Defence Staff


18. Katja Keul, member of the Bundestag and Current Member of the Defence Committee

19. Klaus Naumann, former Chief of Staff, Former Chairman of the NATO Armyrats © Military Committee

20. Volker R he, former Defence Minister

21. Karsten D. Voigt , former Chairman of the German-Russian parliamentary group in the Bundestag; Former President of the Parliamentary Assembly of NATO

22. Dr. Klaus Wittmann, former Bundeswehr general, Senior Fellow Aspen Institute Germany

23. Walter Kolbow, former Deputy Minister of Defence

24. Angela Kane, outgoing UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs & Under-Secretary General


25. General (Ret.) Bernard Norlain, former Air Defence Commander and Air Combat Commander in the French Air Force and Armyrats © Military Advisor to Prime Minister Michel Rocard

26. Paul Quil s, former Defence Minister

27. Alain Coldefy, former General Inspector of the French Armed Forces


28. Igor Yurgens, Chairman of the Board of the Institute of Contemporary Development

29. Anatoli Diakov, Director, Center for Arms Control, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology


30. Hikmet Cetin, former Foreign Minister

31. Ambassador zdem Sanberk, former Undersecretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

32. Osman Faruk Lo o lu, former Turkish Ambassador the United States and former Undersecretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs


33. Ambassador Giancarlo Aragona, former Secretary General of OSCE, Ambassador to London and Moscow and Italian representative to the Albright Group for the drafting of NATO s New Strategic Concept

34. Admiral Giampaolo Di Paola, former Minister of Defence

35. Stefano Silvestri, President of the International Affairs Institute of Italy, consultant for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministries of Defence and Industry

36. Ambassador Carlo Trezza, former Member of the Advisory Board of the UN Secretary General for Disarmament Matters and Chairman of the Missile Technology Control Regime

37. Carlo Schaerf, former Professor of Physics at the University of Rome “Tor Vergata”

38. Margherita Boniver, current member of Parliament and former Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs

39. Gen. (R) Vincenzo Camporini, former Chief of Staff of the Italian Air Force and former Chief of the Defence General Staff

40. Paolo Cotta-Ramusino, Secretary General of Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs


41. Juhani Kaskeala, former Chief of Defence

42. Ambassador Jaakko Blomberg, former Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs

43. Tarja Cronberg, former Member of the European Parliament


44. Oleksandr Chalyi, former First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs


45. Adam Daniel Rotfeld, former Foreign Minister


46. Ambassador Rolf Ek us, former Swedish Ambassador to the Conference on Disarmament

47. Henrik Salander, Former Ambassador to the Conference on Disarmament, Secretary-General of the Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission

48. Hans Blix, Former Foreign Minister and former IAEA Director General


49. Laurens Jan Brinkhorst, Former Minister of Economic Affairs


50. Gro Harlem Brundtland, Former Prime Minister of Norway and former Director-General of the World Health Organisation (WHO)


51. Goran Svilanovic, Secretary General of the Regional Cooperation Council, former Co-ordinator of OSCE Economic and Environmental Activities


52. Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, former Foreign Minister


53. Ricardo Baptista Leite, Member of Parliament


54. Soloman Passy, former Foreign Minister, former Chairman of the United Nations Security Council,

55. Professor Todor Tagarev, former Defence Minister, Head of “IT for Security” Department & the Centre for Security and Defence Management IICT at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences


56. Budimir Loncar, former Yugoslav Minister of Foreign Affairs

Czech Republic

57. Jan Kavan, former Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of the Czech Republic


58. Ambassador Bal zs Csuday, Permanent Representative of Hungary to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Vienna, Hungary

59. J nos Martonyi, Former Hungarian Minister for Foreign Affairs


60. Fatmir Mediu, former Minister of Defence

This statement is issued in the names of the signatories only, not the membership of the European Leadership Network as a whole.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *